At 400-meter height above the waters of the Black Sea, stands the Church of Christ's Resurrection atop of steep “Red Rock” cliff. The church overlooks the littoral village Foros.
History of the church foundation is connected with the Russian Emperor Family. Tsar Alexander III and his family have had returned to St.Petersburg from the Crimea safely, while the train they had been riding in had experienced a major crash, went off track, and among uninvolved carriges had been the Tsar Family one. Foros landowner, Moscow tea merchant Kuznetsov, in commemoration of Tsar’s miraculous salvation and gratitude to God has built this Church in 1892, four years after the incident. The Church is designed in Byzantine temple style by Nikolai Chagin, an architect from Wilno. Floor mosaics were made in Antonio Salviatti’s studio and interior murals were painted by famous St.Petersburgh artists - K. Makovetsky, A. Kozukhin and N. Sverchkov.
In 1924 the church was closed by the resolution of the Soviet Government, the crosses were taken off the domes, murals painted out and the church priest was sent to the Siberia. The building became a snack-bar for tourists, and in 1969 was closed too. The church stayed abandoned till 1992, when it was returned to the Orthodox Church. After numerous renovations it was opened again and holds regular services nowadays.
Viewing platform behind the church opens a breathtaking view of upright calcite mountains with Crimean pines climbing over them, green dachas of Foros somewhere down below and the glittering sea washing invisible beaches line.